Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘88° North’

cover126145-medium

** My thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for my copy of this book **

 

Description:

The deadliest kind of assassin is one who is already dying…

As the radiation poisoning that Nadia Laksheva was exposed to in Chernobyl takes hold of her body, she knows she has mere weeks to live. But Salamander, the terrorist who murdered her father and sister has a deadly new plan to ‘make the sky bleed’. Nadia is determined to stop him again, even if it is the last thing she ever does.

The only clue she has are the coordinates 88˚ North, a ridge in the Arctic right above one of the largest oil fields in the world, three thousand metres below the ice. If Salamander takes hold of the oil field, he could change the climate of the whole planet for generations to come…

But can Nadia stop him before her own time runs out?

The gripping third and final novel in J.F. Kirwan’s brilliant spy thriller series. Perfect for fans of Charles Cumming, Mark Dawson and Adam Brookes.

 

My Thoughts & Review:

I think it’s fair to say that this has been a series that I’ve much enjoyed and when I realised that this was the final part of the series I was saddened.  How could the author end this series with one of my favourite characters?!   How would the plot move on from where it left off in book two and more importantly, how would this end?!

So, picking up from the previous book, we see Nadia Laksheva still on the tail of notorious terrorist Salamander and with nothing to lose she’s letting nothing stop her finding him, not even the radiation sickness.
Nadia is a character that many readers have taken a huge liking to, she’s a kick ass, takes no-nonsense lass that knows her way around guns and can fight her way out of most situations.  She’s the perfect mixture of cool, detached and calculating, but also impulsive, not averse to taking risks.  The way that Kirwan scripts his plot means that the tension winds tighter and tighter to the point you almost want to race through the book to find out what will happen next and what risks will be taken.

The research into this book feels quite extensive, even down to the detailed information presented in small throw away comments in dialogue are impressive.  Other details of things such as traditions of the Triad, the information about nuclear weapons etc are fantastic and make a reader feel like they are being presented with something so well thought out and put together.  It really adds an authenticity and feeling of completeness to the plot.

I do love the descriptiveness of the writing throughout this series, the settings are so vivid in my head whilst I read, it’s almost like watching a movie play out in my head.  And I will miss diving with Nadia and Jake, experiencing the underwater world through their dives has been one of the highlights of these books.

If you’ve not read either of the previous books I would recommend heading back to the beginning of the series to fully appreciate the development of the characters and their situations.   Highly recommended series that I am genuinely sad to see end.

You can buy a copy of 88° North via:

Amazon UK

Read Full Post »

write4bairns

Writing for Kids

The Auld (Woolly) Alliance

When a Scottish Knitwear and Toy Designer and a French Compulsive Knitter Meet...

Put it in Writing

The Blog & Website of Anne Stormont Author: Writing, Reading, Reflecting

bibliobeth

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” - Cicero

Not Another Book Blogger

Reading, Writing, Drinking Tea

BookBum

A friendly space for all mystery, crime & thriller lovers

Broadbean's Books

Welcome to my blog where I share my thoughts on books.

Audio Killed the Bookmark

Two Girls Who Love To Read Spreading the Love For All Things Bookish! 💕📚🎧

Me and My Books

Books, book reviews and bookish news.

The Beardy Book Blogger

Reading and Reviewing Books - May Contain Beard: "From Tiny Book Blog Buds Shall Mighty Book Blogs Grow" - TBBB

Book lovers' booklist

Book news and reviews

Rosepoint Publishing

Blogger, Book Reviewer, Book Promotion

Crime Thriller Fella

Crime reviews, news, mayhem, all the usual

juliapalooza.com

Books, bakes and bunnies

A Knight's Reads

All things bookish

Letter Twenty

it's all about the tea

On The Shelf Books

A bookblog for readers

Gem's Quiet Corner

Welcome to my little corner. Grab a cup of tea (or hot drink of preference), find your happy place and join me to talk all things bookish...