Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘Breaking Bones’

Breaking Bones

 

** My thanks to Hannah at Endeavour Press for my copy of this book and for inviting me to be part of the blog tour **

 

Description:

The streets of Preston are alive with music and banter. But nothing can drown out the sound of breaking bones
Inseparable since childhood and feared by their community, Tony, Eddie and Frankie are beyond the reach of justice. The brutal gang, The Three Dogs, are a law unto themselves.
Detective Jim Hacker has watched The Dogs grow from thuggish youths to psychotic criminals. He seems to be the only one who wants to see their empire fall.
Meanwhile Jamie Strange, a young Royal Marine, finds himself embroiled in the lives of The Three Dogs when his girlfriend, Laurie Holland, cuts off their engagement… to be with the most dangerous of The Dogs: Frankie Verdi.
Jamie vows to save Laurie, before Frankie damns them both.
Every dog will have its day…
This gritty, addictive crime story fizzes with the energy of the eighties. 
Breaking Bones will appeal to fans of Martina Cole, Roberta Kray and Stephen Leather.

My Thoughts & Review:

The 1980s setting of this book intrigued me enough to pick this one up, having been a child of the 80s I’m always interested to see how the decade translates onto the pages of a book, and I was pleasantly surprised with Breaking Bones.  The setting felt authentic (as far as my acquired knowledge would permit), the fashions and music of the time definitely felt authentic that’s for sure!

In Breaking Bones, the reader watches the rise of three lads to the dizzy heights of criminal kingship through the eyes of Detective Jim Hacker, the three lads in question, “The Three Dogs”; Frankie, Eddie and Tony were childhood friends.  All three have an unhealthy fascination with violence and are quick to leap to violence in any situation.  Detective Hacker is a fantastic narrator, his obsession with the trio feels so real and dangerous that readers cannot help but become somewhat involved with it too.  Like any detective, his gut instinct tells him that Frankie, Eddie and Tony are responsible for more crimes than the police can prove, but to get the proof that’s needed he will have to sit and wait for them to mess up.

Jamie Strange finds that the tentacles of The Three Dogs have a way of creeping into his life when his fiancée Lauren leaves him for Frankie.  Instead of disliking Lauren for her actions, I ended up feeling sympathy towards her.  She’s a well written character that readers will become invested in.

The plot is dark and gritty, is has elements of brutality which add to the story line, and over all it’s a well paced novel.  The gangland element combined with the crime thriller makes this an enjoyable read and one that I think would appeal to fans of crime novels.

You can buy a copy of Breaking Bones via:

Amazon UK

 

Follow the blog tour:

Breaking_Bones FINAL

Read Full Post »

write4bairns

Writing for Kids

The Auld (Woolly) Alliance

When a Scottish Knitwear and Toy Designer and a French Compulsive Knitter Meet...

Put it in Writing

The Blog & Website of Anne Stormont Author: Writing, Reading, Reflecting

bibliobeth

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” - Cicero

Not Another Book Blogger

Reading, Writing, Drinking Tea

BookBum

A friendly space for all horror, mystery & thriller lovers

Broadbean's Books

Welcome to my blog where I share my thoughts on books.

Berit Talks Books

“I'm just a girl, standing in front of a book hoping I will love it.”

Yvonne - Me and My Books

Books, book reviews and bookish news.

The Beardy Book Blogger

Reading and Reviewing Books - May Contain Beard: "From Tiny Book Blog Buds Shall Mighty Book Blogs Grow" - TBBB

Book lovers' booklist

Book news and reviews

Rosepoint Publishing

Blogger-Book Blogger–Book Reviews of Bestsellers & Indie Authors

Crime Thriller Fella

Crime reviews, news, mayhem, all the usual

juliapalooza.com

Books, bakes and bunnies

A Knight's Reads

All things bookish

Letter Twenty

it's all about the tea

On The Shelf Books

A bookblog for readers

Gem's Quiet Corner

Welcome to my little corner. Grab a cup of tea (or hot drink of preference), find your happy place and join me to talk all things bookish...