Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘HQ Digital’

Lies Between Us

** My thanks to the author and the publisher for my copy of this book and for inviting me to be part of the blog tour **

 

Description:

Will they ever learn the truth?

Three people, leading very different lives, are about to be brought together – with devastating consequences . . .

John has a perfect life, until the day his daughter goes missing.

Maisie cares for her patients, but hides her own traumatic past.

Miller should be an innocent child, but is obsessed with something he can’t have.

They all have something in common, though none of them know it – and the truth won’t stay hidden for long . . .

A gripping psychological thriller for fans of Clare Mackintosh, Shari Lapena and Lisa Jewell.

 

My Thoughts & Review:

Don’t you just love it when an author creates characters that get under your skin, or that sneak into your subconscious and leave you feeling slightly creeped out? That’s exactly what Ronnie Turner has done in her debut thriller Lies Between Us.

With a multilayered plot, Lies Between Us is a book that takes readers on a seriously twisted and complex journey. There are three main perspectives for narration in the form of John, Maisie and Miller. Each of these characters is incredibly detailed, and leaves readers with no clear connection between them and their tales, but one thing is for sure it can’t be something good. The key thing with the narrative is to pay attention to the dates in the header of each chapter, the timelines of the plot shift both backwards and forwards.  It is however, infuriatingly clever, and no matter how hard I tried to puzzle it out, I couldn’t figure it out.
Short chapters ensure that you are held captive by this book, not wanting to put it down for fear of missing what happens next,  but at the same time, you almost want to put it down because you can almost guess that the darkness that’s looming on the horizon will be unnerving, claustrophobic and chilling.

I don’t want to say much about the plot, the details are there in the book description, that’s enough to have most potential readers curious. And quite honestly, I don’t think I could adequately describe this. Think of a five-year-old trying to recount all of their birthday presents … “this and then this, and then this, oh and there’s that, and the other thing …” suffice to say that Turner has expertly and deviously plotted a thriller that has you scratching your head and constantly on the back foot trying to work it all out and still floors you when she ties all the strands up.
The levels of emotions that Turner evokes from her readers is immense. She is able to portray the distress, turmoil, tension, and obsession of each of the situations and characters so vividly that readers cannot help but feel pulled into the book, drawn to that moment of the plot. But for me, it has to be charactersation that really sets this apart from the rest!

 

Purchase Links:

Amazon UK

Google Play

KOBO

Itunes

LiesBetweenUs_BlogTourBanner4

 

Read Full Post »

cover115911-medium

Published: 7 July 2017

 

Description:

With high tide comes murder…

When her beloved London theatre closes for renovations, costume maker Guinevere is excited to start a job at Cornisea castle, a centuries-old keep on a small tidal island off the coast of Cornwall. Imagine a whole summer full of stories of hidden treasures, fab food and long walks with her perky dachshund Dolly.

But when a re-enactment of a medieval trial in the castle dungeons ends in real-life murder, and accusations threaten the castle’s future, Guinevere and Dolly dig deep into the island community’s best-kept secrets to unmask the killer and save their Cornish summer.

The first book in the Cornish Castle Mystery series with the second instalment RUBIES IN THE ROSES coming August 2017!

My Thoughts & Review:

When I heard someone mention that “cosy crime” would be a big hit this year I wondered what new detectives we would meet and whether they would be a patch on the investigators of yesteryear when it came to detecting crime.  Here Vivian Conroy excels, and presents readers with a well written crime story that encapsulates the essence of cosy crime.

Guinevere and her delightful Dachshund Dolly are marvellous characters, Guinevere is a very likeable character that readers will take an instant liking towards.  The plot is interesting and well thought out, with plenty to keep the reader guessing as they try to piece together all the clues to solve the mystery.
Superb descriptions of the setting of Cornisea really make the place come alive from the pages, I felt like I was there and able to see the sights.  Likewise, the characters really come to life through the skilled writing making this a delightful and enticing read.

I’m trying desperately not to say too much about the plot, I think this is the sort of book that hints would give away too much and spoil it for others, but it’s well written and paced just right for an enjoyable and exciting read.
Fans of Conroy’s previous books which feature Lady Alkmene Callender should hopefully enjoy this book, and I would say that fans of cosy crime in general would enjoy this one!

Now to wait patiently to read Rubies in the Roses ……

You can buy a copy of Death Plays a Part via Amazon

 

My thanks to Vivian Conroy and HQ Digital for the opportunity to read this book and take part in the blog tour.

Death Plays a Part - Banner

 

Read Full Post »

write4bairns

Writing for Kids

The Auld (Woolly) Alliance

When a Scottish Knitwear and Toy Designer and a French Compulsive Knitter Meet...

Put it in Writing

The Blog & Website of Anne Stormont Author: Writing, Reading, Reflecting

bibliobeth

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” - Cicero

Not Another Book Blogger

Reading, Writing, Drinking Tea

BookBum

A friendly space for all horror, mystery & thriller lovers

Broadbean's Books

Welcome to my blog where I share my thoughts on books.

Berit Talks Books

“I'm just a girl, standing in front of a book hoping I will love it.”

Yvonne - Me and My Books

Books, book reviews and bookish news.

The Beardy Book Blogger

Reading and Reviewing Books - May Contain Beard: "From Tiny Book Blog Buds Shall Mighty Book Blogs Grow" - TBBB

Book lovers' booklist

Book news and reviews

Rosepoint Publishing

Blogger-Book Blogger–Book Reviews of Bestsellers & Indie Authors

Crime Thriller Fella

Crime reviews, news, mayhem, all the usual

juliapalooza.com

Books, bakes and bunnies

A Knight's Reads

All things bookish

Letter Twenty

it's all about the tea

On The Shelf Books

A bookblog for readers

Gem's Quiet Corner

Welcome to my little corner. Grab a cup of tea (or hot drink of preference), find your happy place and join me to talk all things bookish...