Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘Isabelle Grey’

It’s an honour to welcome you along to The Quiet Knitter for my stop on the blog tour for Isabelle Grey’s “The Special Girls” and I am so excited to be able to share an extract from Chapter One of this brilliant book!

 

51-zftlrmbl-_sx323_bo1204203200_

Description:

A seemingly perfect man is accused of horrendous crimes. It should be an open and shut case – but is there more to it than meets the eye?

An intelligent, timely thriller from award-winning screenwriter Isabelle Grey – a must-read for fans of Lynda La Plante’s Prime Suspect and Sarah Hilary

A young psychiatric registrar is found dead in the woods outside a summer camp for young eating disorder patients, run by the charismatic, world-renowned Professor Ned Chesham. DI Grace Fisher investigates, but it is not long before she is pulled from the case – to head up a Metropolitan Police review into a cold case involving Chesham himself.

Nearly twenty years ago, one of Chesham’s patients made allegations that he sexually assaulted her. The investigation at the time found no conclusive proof, but Grace soon discovers another victim, and a witness whose account never reached the police. Does this mean the original investigation was bungled? Scotland Yard would certainly like her to conclude otherwise.

As Grace uncovers the lies that led to the young doctor’s murder, she discovers the full extent of the damage done to Chesham’s ‘special girls’ – and the danger they are still in.

You can buy a copy of “The Special Girls” via Amazon here or via Wordery here.


Book Extract:

Chapter One:

Detective Inspector Grace Fisher heard an owl hoot as she got out of the car. It was somewhere off away in the thick darkness of the woods on the opposite side of the road. The faintest whisper of a breeze in the night air rustled the treetops and brushed her cheek as she inhaled the dry, earthy smell of last winter’s leaf litter.
‘What genius thought it would be a good idea to stop there?’ she asked, shaking her head at the two marked police cars pulled up on the verge beside a five-bar gate. ‘Right where the perpetrator might have left a vehicle if they had one.’
‘Idiots,’ agreed Detective Sergeant Blake Langley.
Although she had invited Blake’s comment, it annoyed her, and she reminded herself to leave her own negative thoughts unspoken. Chiding herself for her lapse and trying to undo it, she nodded towards the uniformed constable who stood beside the gate ready to escort them to the body. ‘It’s probably not his fault,’ she said. ‘No fun hanging about here for an hour in the dark waiting for us to show up.’
‘He must have done something to draw the short straw.’ Grace sighed. Not for the first time since Blake had joined the Major Investigation Team in Colchester three months ago, she missed her familiar wingman, DS Lance Cooper. Still, this was neither the time nor the place for regrets; she would just have to keep in mind that the new sergeant had a good reputation as a thief-taker and was easy enough to get along with as long as she ignored his default- mode scornful attitude.
Taking a forensic suit from the boot of their car, she went ahead to identify herself to the young constable and thank him for what she hoped hadn’t been too long a wait. ‘So where exactly are we?’ she asked him.
‘On the northern perimeter of the grounds of Wryford Hall,’ he said. ‘The village, that’s Long Wryford, is off to the west.’
‘And this road, where does it go?’
‘Nowhere really. It winds around a few farms and a small hamlet about three miles away before joining back up with the main Long Wryford to East Fordholt road. Most people just take that.’
‘So you mean we’re slap bang in the middle of nowhere,’ said Blake, joining them.
‘Pretty much,’ the constable agreed.
‘At least house‑to‑house won’t use up too much manpower then,’ said Blake cheerfully.
‘There are some people staying at the hall,’ said the constable.
‘Or camping in the grounds, anyway.’
‘OK,’ said Grace. ‘Lead on.’


Don’t forget to check out the other stops on the blog tour!

The Special Blog Tour Poster

Read Full Post »

write4bairns

Writing for Kids

The Auld (Woolly) Alliance

When a Scottish Knitwear and Toy Designer and a French Compulsive Knitter Meet...

Put it in Writing

The Blog & Website of Anne Stormont Author: Writing, Reading, Reflecting

bibliobeth

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” - Cicero

Not Another Book Blogger

Reading, Writing, Drinking Tea

BookBum

A friendly space for all horror, mystery & thriller lovers

Broadbean's Books

Welcome to my blog where I share my thoughts on books.

Berit Talks Books

“I'm just a girl, standing in front of a book hoping I will love it.”

Yvonne - Me and My Books

Books, book reviews and bookish news.

The Beardy Book Blogger

Reading and Reviewing Books - May Contain Beard: "From Tiny Book Blog Buds Shall Mighty Book Blogs Grow" - TBBB

Book lovers' booklist

Book news and reviews

Rosepoint Publishing

Blogger-Book Blogger–Book Reviews of Bestsellers & Indie Authors

Crime Thriller Fella

Crime reviews, news, mayhem, all the usual

juliapalooza.com

Books, bakes and bunnies

A Knight's Reads

All things bookish

Letter Twenty

it's all about the tea

On The Shelf Books

A bookblog for readers

Gem's Quiet Corner

Welcome to my little corner. Grab a cup of tea (or hot drink of preference), find your happy place and join me to talk all things bookish...