Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘June Taylor’

keep your friends close

** My thanks to damppebbles blog tours and Killer Reads for my copy of this book and for inviting me to be part of the blog tour **

 

Description:

Keep your friends close and your enemies closer…

An addictive and shocking psychological thriller, full of twists you won’t see coming, perfect for fans of FRIEND REQUEST by Laura Marshall.

A friend who won’t let you escape.
When Karin is taken on a romantic break by her loving partner Aaron, she can’t wait for him to propose. But her surprise weekend quickly becomes a nightmare from which she may never escape.

Who wants everything you have.
They are staying by the beach at the Midland – a grand hotel where Karin used to work. And where Karin’s dangerous and obsessive ex, whom she has been trying to leave behind for years, is waiting patiently for her to return.

Who won’t stop until your life is in ruins.
Now all of Karin’s darkest secrets are being dragged into the light and her friends are turning against her. When one of them is murdered, Karin begins to realise just how treacherous relationships can be…

My Thoughts & Review:

The moment I read the description of this book I knew that I needed to read it, this sounded so intriguing and exciting!

With a creeping unease, June Taylor slowly gives readers breadcrumbs of information as she reveals the details in Keep Your Friends Close. The opening chapter is deceptively vague, giving no solid information about characters and the connections between them, something I found that made me even more intrigued. I needed to find out about the characters and their connections. I needed to find out more about Karin and where she came from, and what the significance of her twenty second birthday was!

Taylor has created some fantastic characters in this book, whilst not all readers will like all characters, there are definitely ones here that have you squirming uncomfortably in your seat. The real tricky thing is working out which characters to trust, or more, which parts of the story to trust … it certainly does make for an engrossing and exciting read.
Karin has a history steeped in secrets, there are very few people who know everything about her and that’s the way she wants to keep it. Knowing her secrets gives people power over her and that’s something she cannot let happen. She realises all too late that it might have been a good idea to share some more of her secrets with her boyfriend, especially after arriving on the doorstep of the hotel where her abusive ex works. Unfortunately, this is the beginning of Karin’s carefully constructed new life unravelling.

The pacing of the book was spot on for me, I felt that I was pulled in with the good use of short chapters and found that I almost managed to read this in one day.

 

Purchase Links:

Amazon UK

Waterstones

BookDepository

Foyles

About the Author:

June Taylor is a UK psychological thriller writer.  For many years she was a TV promos writer/producer before turning to writing plays and fiction.  She was runner-up in the 2011 Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction competition with her YA novel.  Her debut Adult psychological thriller Losing Juliet was nominated for the Not the Booker Prize 2017.

Keep Your Friends Close is June’s second psychological thriller for the HarperCollins Killer Reads imprint.  The ebook comes out on 26th October 2018 (paperback 10th January 2019).

June is active in her local writing scene, including serving on the Board of Script Yorkshire and taking part in Leeds Big bookend.

When she’s not writing she likes to shrink her life down into a campervan and take off on some adventure with her husband.  She lives in Yorkshire.  You can also find June at her website. On Twitter and Facebook and occasionally on Instagram too.

KEEP YOUR FRIENDS CLOSE banner

 

Read Full Post »

cover93503-medium

Published: 25 November 2016
Reviewed: 1 February 2017

4 out of 5 stars

Copy provided by Killer Reads

 

Description:

You can’t escape the past…

Juliet and Chrissy were best friends until one fateful summer forced them apart. Now, nearly twenty years later, Juliet wants to be back in Chrissy’s life.

But Chrissy doesn’t want Juliet anywhere near her, or her teenage daughter Eloise. After all, Juliet is the only person who knows what happened that night – and her return threatens to destroy the life that Chrissy has so carefully built.

Because when the past is reawakened, it can prove difficult to bury. And soon all three of them will realize how dangerous it can get once the truth is out there…

My Thoughts & Review:

This was one of those books that instantly appealed to me when I read the description, something about it screamed twisted, dark and intense – just the sort of book I love to devour.

Narrated from different points of view, the story is told from both the past and the present and the reader learns that Chrissy is reminiscing about her friend from university who has made contact with Eloise, Chrissy’s daughter.  Eloise cannot understand her mother’s reluctance to speak to her old friend Juliet, but in order to explain Chrissy must recount what happened all those years ago when they were in France.
This first part of the book was incredibly detailed, Taylor brings her characters to life fleshing them out with wonderful backstories, carefully drawing a picture of the background that led to the friendship between Chrissy and Juliet before it all fell apart.
Whilst it is a bit of a slow burner, the reader is rewarded with some wonderfully intense moments, and when you reach the second part of the book set in Italy the pace picks up dramatically as lies are uncovered and the truth is finally told.

I really liked in this was the way in which June Taylor kept me guessing which voice to trust.  An unreliable narrator makes a book more interesting and thrilling, but here with so many twists, turns and red herrings it was exhilarating.

June Taylor is a new author to me, and I admit I had no preconceived notions going into this book but I will certainly be keeping an eye out for more books by this author.

Overall, a very well written thriller with a well constructed plot and rich characters.

 

Many thanks to Killer Reads / HarperCollins UK & Netgalley for the opportunity to read this book.

 

About the Author:

June Taylor is a UK writer who was runner-up in the 2011 Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction competition with her Young Adult book Lovely me, Lovely You. But she mainly writes Adult psychological thrillers, and Losing Juliet is her debut novel. She was a TV promos writer/producer for many years before becoming a full-time writer. June also writes plays as well as fiction. She is very active in the Yorkshire writing scene, on the Board of Script Yorkshire and part of Leeds Big Bookend.

Follow her on Twitter: @joonLT
Visit her website at: www.junetaylor.co.uk

 

Read Full Post »

write4bairns

Writing for Kids

The Auld (Woolly) Alliance

When a Scottish Knitwear and Toy Designer and a French Compulsive Knitter Meet...

Put it in Writing

The Blog & Website of Anne Stormont Author: Writing, Reading, Reflecting

bibliobeth

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” - Cicero

Not Another Book Blogger

Reading, Writing, Drinking Tea

BookBum

A friendly space for all mystery, crime & thriller lovers

Broadbean's Books

Welcome to my blog where I share my thoughts on books.

Audio Killed the Bookmark

Two Girls Who Love To Read Spreading the Love For All Things Bookish! 💕📚🎧

Me and My Books

Books, book reviews and bookish news.

The Beardy Book Blogger

Reading and Reviewing Books - May Contain Beard: "From Tiny Book Blog Buds Shall Mighty Book Blogs Grow" - TBBB

Book lovers' booklist

Book news and reviews

Rosepoint Publishing

Blogger-Book Blogger–Book Reviews of Bestsellers & Indie Authors

Crime Thriller Fella

Crime reviews, news, mayhem, all the usual

juliapalooza.com

Books, bakes and bunnies

A Knight's Reads

All things bookish

Letter Twenty

it's all about the tea

On The Shelf Books

A bookblog for readers

Gem's Quiet Corner

Welcome to my little corner. Grab a cup of tea (or hot drink of preference), find your happy place and join me to talk all things bookish...