Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘Matt Brolly’

I am delighted to welcome you to my stop on the blog tour for Matt Brolly’s latest novel “Dead Embers” and share a sneak preview of chapter one with you!

Description:

61rsppzxbcl-_sy346_

 

An explosive fire. A double murder. And that’s just the start…
When DCI Michael Lambert is called out to an apparent house fire, he knows it can’t be routine. Instead he finds the remains of a burnt house, a traumatised child and two corpses – one of whom is a senior police officer.
Lambert’s got other problems. Anti-corruption are onto his boss. His relationships is on the rocks. He can’t get over his ex-wife and he keeps blacking out.

But when a detective has been murdered the stakes are too high to get distracted. All is not as it seems. As the investigation continues Lambert realises he is getting drawn into something altogether bigger and more terrifying than he could ever have imagined…

Trust no one.

Gripping, chilling to its core and full of twists, the powerful new DCI Michael Lambert from Matt Brolly is perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Helen H. Durrant and Michael Hambling.

You can buy a copy of Dead Embers via Amazon here


Chapter One:

The girl pulled the duvet over her head and tried to return to sleep.

Her skin bristled with heat beneath the cover and she stuck her head back out. ‘Mummy?’ she whispered, her words lost in the darkness.

Her toys acted as if nothing was happening. She grabbed Laney and studied her face, the glass eyes and stitched smile revealing no sense of fear. A crashing noise came from downstairs and she retreated back further beneath the covers with her doll.

It was hot, and not just because she was wrapped in the duvet. She wanted to leave the room, to make the small journey to Mummy and Daddy’s room, but they didn’t like her leaving her bed in the middle of the night and she wanted to be a good girl. Mummy would come to her if anything was wrong, she was sure. She listened, but all she could hear was the rapid thumping of her heart.

‘What do you think?’ she asked Laney, as more noises rose from the depths of the house. The sounds were familiar but she couldn’t recall from where. She closed her eyes and pictured the dragon from the book Mummy read to her at bedtime.

She poked Laney’s head out of the duvet and turned the doll’s face in a circle so she could check nothing was in the room with them. Laney didn’t say anything so she stuck her head back out.

The room had changed. She rubbed her eyes. She must be tired. Mummy and Daddy always said she was tired when things were going wrong. Her eyes watered, and the room faded. She glanced down at the nightlight, peering closer at the air which danced around the orange glow, when the door blew open.

She grabbed Janey closer and started to cough. A strange figure stood in her doorway. He wore a helmet and a funny mask. Behind him, something glowed like her nightlight but much brighter. It had changed the house. The man mumbled something and she struggled to keep her eyes open as he grabbed her from her bed and placed something over her mouth.


Don’t forget to check out the other stops on the blog tour – there have been some fantastic reviews by some amazing bloggers (and I hope to sneak my review in soon!)

banner

Read Full Post »

I am thrilled to welcome you to my stop on the #Zero blog tour and share an extract from Matt Brolly’s newest mystery novel.

512kemdwfcl-_sy346_

No crime will go unpunished

It is the near future. A zero tolerance policy results in the death penalty for all crimes, no matter how minor.

When a judge is kidnapped, and a ransom note demands the release of all prisoners awaiting execution, kleptomaniac Detective Inspector Kate Swanson is put on the case.

But soon her boss also disappears. Under increasing pressure from her superiors, and caught between the security services and the growing social unrest, Swanson must race to find a man whose murdered wife and daughter link the missing men.

Can she find him before it’s too late?

With a dystopian twist on the police procedural, Zero is an unputdownable and atmospheric thriller. The first in a powerful new series from Matt Brolly for fans of Angela Marsons and Robert Bryndza or Minority Report and Blade Runner.


Extract from Zero:

It was not a comfortable space for a man of his size. Old Blue had been in the boot of the car for five hours. He was squeezed into the foetal position, his considerable stomach pushed tight against his bended legs. Sweat dripped from his brow and cooled on his silver beard. The little oxygen which remained in the cramped interior of the car was contaminated by the fetid odour of his breath. He concentrated on his breathing, drawing the stale air in through his nose and exhaling it through pursed lips. His watch told him it was eight forty-five pm.

Old Blue closed his eyes and waited for the judge.

***

Twelve storeys above the basement car park where Old Blue waited, Judge Lloyd was preparing to leave for the day. He had a strict policy of finishing work at nine every evening. Anything urgent was taken home with him. Lloyd was in his late sixties but looked ten years younger. He signed off his last report and placed his paperwork into his briefcase. His personal assistant, Sarah Natal, was still working in the outer office. ‘Time to wrap up now,’ he told her as he walked past. He wished her goodnight with a tired flicker of a smile. The digital clock on her desk read nine p.m. precisely.

The court building was still alive with work, and Lloyd passed a number of familiar faces as he made his way down to the car park. The lift was empty so he was able to reach the car without exchanging words with anyone. His car was in its usual reserved space close to the stairwell. As always, Judge Lloyd opened the driver side door first, placing his briefcase on the passenger seat next to him.

The evening traffic was thinning and the judge made good time back to his house. He followed his favoured route, across the river at Bridge Eight and up to the winding side streets which led to his house in Sector Twelve. The pods were visible at various points through the journey. An outstanding feat of modern engineering, the glass capsules crawled through the night sky snaking across the entire city. They moved along their tracks, dangling like giant lanterns. It was claimed you were never more than one hundred metres away from a sightline of the structure. Lloyd chose not to notice. It was not that familiarity had lessened the wonder; Lloyd never looked at the translucent domes in case he saw someone within he recognised.

At home, the electronic gates sensed the arrival of his car and opened accordingly. Lloyd pressed the button for the garage doors and drove into the space. After closing the garage doors, he entered the house through a side door in the garage, which he locked behind him.

***

It was nine forty-five by the time the judge left the car. Wedged into the boot, Old Blue had suffered each bump and pothole of the journey. It was eleven-thirty before he moved. He managed to pop open the latch with little effort. His arm muscles flared with pain as he hoisted himself from the car, his legs buckling as he hit the stone floor of the garage. He stretched his calves and thighs, encouraging the blood to circulate. It was a slow, painful walk to the side entrance. He opened the door with the kind of ease that only comes with months of practice.

The lights were off downstairs but Old Blue knew the space well. To reach the staircase, he had to pass through two interior doors, both made of solid oak, both unlocked. He moved as quietly as was possible for a man of his weight and lack of agility. With his right hand, he reached into the inside of his jacket and pulled out a gun. Orange nightlights, the type a child would use, lined the stairwell. Old Blue eased himself upwards towards the landing, ignoring the occasional squeaks of loose floorboards. Judge Lloyd’s bedroom was the third on the right. Without hesitation, Old Blue opened the door. A four-poster bed made from thick black wood filled the room. The judge was sitting up in bed reading. He looked up from his book and studied Old Blue, seemingly unconcerned. Seconds later, he nodded. ‘Mr. Jacobson,’ he said.

Old Blue looked at the man and shook his head.

Zero was published on 21st November by Canelo price £3.99 as an ebook, you can buy a copy here

About the Author:

Following his law degree where he developed an interest in criminal law, Matt Brolly completed his Masters in Creative Writing at Glasgow University.

He is the author of the DCI Lambert crime novels, Dead Eyed and Dead Lucky, and the near future crime trilogy, featuring DI Kate Swanson, which begins with Zero.

Matt lives in London with his wife and their two young children. You can find out more about Matt at his website MattBrolly.co.uk or by following him on twitter: @MatthewBrolly


Don’t forget to check out the other stops on the blog tour for some brilliant reviews!

zero-blog-tour-3-2

 

 

Read Full Post »

write4bairns

Writing for Kids

The Auld (Woolly) Alliance

When a Scottish Knitwear and Toy Designer and a French Compulsive Knitter Meet...

Put it in Writing

The Blog & Website of Anne Stormont Author: Writing, Reading, Reflecting

bibliobeth

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” - Cicero

Not Another Book Blogger

Reading, Writing, Drinking Tea

BookBum

A friendly space for all horror, mystery & thriller lovers

Broadbean's Books

Welcome to my blog where I share my thoughts on books.

Berit Talks Books

“I'm just a girl, standing in front of a book hoping I will love it.”

Yvonne - Me and My Books

Books, book reviews and bookish news.

The Beardy Book Blogger

Reading and Reviewing Books - May Contain Beard: "From Tiny Book Blog Buds Shall Mighty Book Blogs Grow" - TBBB

Book lovers' booklist

Book news and reviews

Rosepoint Publishing

Blogger-Book Blogger–Book Reviews of Bestsellers & Indie Authors

Crime Thriller Fella

Crime reviews, news, mayhem, all the usual

juliapalooza.com

Books, bakes and bunnies

A Knight's Reads

All things bookish

Letter Twenty

it's all about the tea

On The Shelf Books

A bookblog for readers

Gem's Quiet Corner

Welcome to my little corner. Grab a cup of tea (or hot drink of preference), find your happy place and join me to talk all things bookish...