Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘Matt Hilton’

Hello and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Matt Hilton’s “Marked For Death”, I am delighted to be able to share a guest post with you written by Matt about where the inspiration came for his fantastic character Joe Hunter.

 

Description:

Marked for Death by Matt Hilton

Joe Hunter has been Marked for Death in his most explosive outing to date.

It should be a routine job. Joe Hunter and his associates are hired to provide security for an elite event in Miami. Wear a tux, stay professional, job done.

But things go wrong.

Hunter is drawn into what appears to be a domestic altercation. When he crosses the mysterious Mikhail however, he soon finds something altogether more sinister…

Before long this chance encounter has serious repercussions for Hunter and his friends. Good people are being killed. On the run, in the line of fire, the clock is ticking.

From the bars of Miami Beach to car chases and superyacht grenade battles, bestseller Matt Hilton dials up the intensity in this rip-roaring, set-piece filled thriller perfect for fans of Lee Child, David Baldacci and Stephen Leather.

You can buy a copy via Amazon


Guest Post: Copping Out

When readers learn I was a police constable before turning my hand full-time to writing crime fiction, they often make the assumption that I must write police procedurals. It’s a fair mistake. I’d spent eighteen years in the private security industry, and then four as a constable in Cumbria in northern England. They say you should write what you know, after all, so I was well placed to write about police officers, but I chose to take a different direction altogether. In fact I chose to throw convention to the wind and write about Joe Hunter, an anti-hero of sorts, an uncompromising vigilante, and not only that but throw him out of the UK and land him in heaps of trouble across the pond in the USA. Also, rather than give Hunter a police background, I decided early on to make him an ex-soldier, one who’d spent his adult life taking on terrorists and organised crime syndicates. It wasn’t (and isn’t) that I have anything against the British crime fiction convention of having Detective Inspector Whatchamacallit as the protagonist, only that I felt that the market was very full of similar characters at the time, and not only that but written by authors that were doing a far better job than I could have. It wasn’t that I was copping out – if you’ll pardon the awful pun – just that I had different stories to tell.

I wish I could say that sending Hunter off to the USA was a clever marketing strategy on my behalf, where I would also snag a US publisher, as well as one based in the UK. The truth is, I hadn’t given that a thought – albeit that was what happened. My reasons for sending Hunter across the Atlantic was because I was an avid reader of American-style thrillers, and they were the type of books I liked to read most (write what you know). Other advice often given to aspiring authors is to write the book you want to read, and that was what I did. My first Hunter book – Dead Men’s Dust – was written without me having ever set foot on US soil. Everything I poured into the book was based on what I’d read in books, or seen on TV or in Hollywood movies. I guess that to me America was still a kind of fantasy or mythological land where I could imagine Hunter’s intense adventures taking place. It is a vast continent, with diverse cultures and settings, a frozen north, a semi-tropical south and everything in between, all different kinds of arenas in which I could place Hunter as he conducted his personal mission to take on the world’s bad guys.

Writing Dead Men’s Dust for me was somewhat cathartic. After spending a long shift, sometimes being spat on and verbally abused, the last thing I wanted to write was about my day job. I wanted to escape reality and did so by making Hunter slightly larger than life and throwing him into situations where he wasn’t constrained by rules and regulations. I’ve been asked if when I was a constable there were times when I’d have liked to have taken off the gloves: the short answer is yes. But to do so would have been career suicide. So instead I allowed Hunter to work off my frustration for me. I let him off his leash and took some pleasure from his actions by proxy. That isn’t to say Hunter is a brute or thug. Quite the opposite. He’s a good man doing bad things to terrible people. He stands up for the innocent and downtrodden, and metes out the only kind of justice brutal thugs understand. I don’t advocate violence, or vigilantism, but, well, y’know…sometimes you have to make a stand.

I’d say that the Hunter books are best defined as action thrillers, or crime thrillers if you prefer. Crime plays a central role in Hunter’s adventures, but not so much as a “who done it?”, as “how are we going to survive this?”. I was heavily influenced as a youth by the so-called men’s action books of the 1970’s. I have tried to update the action-packed, adrenaline-fuelled nature of those books in a modern setting. If you’re looking for a cerebral, thoughtful read, then Hunter won’t be for you, but if all you want is to kick back and enjoy a fun, wild ride, then he probably will. Often my books are compared to those of Lee Child’s Jack Reacher series – sometimes good, sometimes bad – and though I think Hunter bears little resemblance to Reacher, they do inhabit a similar world, and genre. Through eleven books and a bunch of short stories in the series, with the twelfth – MARKED FOR DEATH published on 17th July 2017 – Hunter has worked for his friend Rink’s PI agency, but rarely as an investigator per se. He has been a protector and avenger. For me, Marked For Death is possibly his most explosive outing to date, where having interjected in what appears to be a domestic dispute Hunter stumbles into something far more sinister and life threatening. Although it is the twelfth book in the series, it is largely standalone, a great place for new readers to meet Hunter for the first time. I hope they enjoy making his acquaintance, and that my regular readers are happy to be in his company once more.

 

www.matthiltonbooks.com website

https://twitter.com/MHiltonauthor  @MHiltonauthor Twitter

www.facebook.com/MattHiltonAuthor Facebook

www.facebook.com/MattHiltonBooks official author page at Facebook

 

Follow the blog tour:

Marked for Death Blog Tour Final (1)

Read Full Post »

write4bairns

Writing for Kids

The Auld (Woolly) Alliance

When a Scottish Knitwear and Toy Designer and a French Compulsive Knitter Meet...

Put it in Writing

The Blog & Website of Anne Stormont Author: Writing, Reading, Reflecting

bibliobeth

“A room without books is like a body without a soul.” - Cicero

Not Another Book Blogger

Reading, Writing, Drinking Tea

BookBum

A friendly space for all mystery, crime & thriller lovers

Broadbean's Books

Welcome to my blog where I share my thoughts on books.

Audio Killed the Bookmark

Two Girls Who Love To Read Spreading the Love For All Things Bookish! 💕📚🎧

Me and My Books

Books, book reviews and bookish news.

The Beardy Book Blogger

Reading and Reviewing Books - May Contain Beard: "From Tiny Book Blog Buds Shall Mighty Book Blogs Grow" - TBBB

Book lovers' booklist

Book news and reviews

Rosepoint Publishing

Blogger, Book Reviewer, Book Promotion

Crime Thriller Fella

Crime reviews, news, mayhem, all the usual

juliapalooza.com

Books, bakes and bunnies

A Knight's Reads

All things bookish

Letter Twenty

it's all about the tea

On The Shelf Books

A bookblog for readers

Gem's Quiet Corner

Welcome to my little corner. Grab a cup of tea (or hot drink of preference), find your happy place and join me to talk all things bookish...